La La La therapy

It was intuition and state of mind that inspired me to write on the topic of music therapy. I entered the subject innocently enough, out of pure personal experience- the music on my iPod has truly helped me get through some difficult moments and in some occasions the simple hearing of a sound has dramatically improved my mood and completely changed my perception of the troublesome situation.

It was not until this afternoon, when I sat down to conduct some research on this topic that I discovered that music therapy is a fully institutionalized profession that you can choose to study as a degree, recognized as a clinical profession and supported by international and national bodies such as the British Music Therapy Association. I was shocked and thrilled at the same time for this revelation- now I know I can see a professional music therapist that knowingly chooses particular compositions to cure certain conditions.

I have been aware of the link between classical music and child’s psychology, the fact that even a fetus in a mother’s womb is capable of recognizing a sound that later on is to shape his/her mental health. Also I have been aware for quite some time that playing an instrument enhances intelligence… too bad the only instrument I desired to play when I was a kid were drums- something that was completely hideous to my parents! Luckily now I know and appreciate a wide-ranging spectrum of music. In fact as I am writing this article I am listening to a compilation of most well known ballet compositions, and I feel really relaxed and focused- words are flowing out of my mind and onto the computer screen at the speed of light.

One should really not underestimate the effect music has on our mental health, and invest some time in creating a music collection for every mood: disco for empowerment, classical for relaxation, folk for cheerfulness, pop for socializing, rock for liberation and so on… Entire mental disorders like stroke, Alzheimers, epilepsy and depression are known to be cured through musical therapy. I remember when I was in elementary school I did not really understand the purpose of ‘music’ as a subject but now I can see it clearly and exploit it to my fullest advantage. Maybe even take up an instrument- it is never too late to learn a new skill 🙂

Also I am happy to learn about what is your favorite song and/or composition, why and how it makes you feel. I have a malleable personal list of my own which I am sharing with you today. It is a mix of everything and it is very personal so it might not match with your own taste, which is fine! All of us experience different moods and enjoy different sounds.

My top 20:

  1. Clair De Lune by Charles Debussy
  2. Porcelain by Moby
  3. Swan Lake by Piotr Ilych Tchaikovsky
  4. Life in Technicolor by Coldplay
  5. On the Radio by Donna Summer
  6. Money by Pink Floyd
  7. I am the Walrus by the Beatles
  8. Wonderwall by Oasis
  9. I want to break free by Queen
  10.  Rehab by Amy Winehouse
  11.  The winner takes it all by ABBA
  12.  Don’t stop believing by Weekend Warriors
  13.  Every breath you take by Police
  14.  One by U2
  15. Why by Annie Lennox
  16.  Frozen by Madonna
  17.  Love the way you lie by Rihanna & Eminem
  18.  Stan by Dido & Eminem
  19.  I wanna dance with somebody by Whitney Houston
  20.  Cose della vita Eros Ramazzotti & Tina Turner
Leave a Reply

